# **DEMOCRACY & ORGANISATION COMMITTEE**

**MINUTES** of the meeting held on Tuesday, 14 June 2011 commencing at 3.35 pm and finishing at 3.45 pm

## Present:

Councillor Anne Purse Councillor Neil Owen Councillor A.M. Lovatt Councillor Alyas Ahmed Councillor Lynda Atkins Councillor Mike Badcock Councillor Maurice Billington Councillor Liz Brighouse OBE

Councillor Iain Brown

Councillor Michael Gibbard Councillor Janet Godden

Councillor Ray Jelf

Councillor G.A. Reynolds Councillor Richard Stevens Councillor Alan Thompson

Whole of meeting Deborah Miller, Committee Officer

The Committee considered the matters, reports and recommendations contained or referred to in the agenda for the meeting and decided as set out below. Except as insofar as otherwise specified, the reasons for the decisions are contained in the agenda and reports, copies of which are attached to the signed Minutes.

#### **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2011/12 COUNCIL YEAR** 12/11 (Agenda No. 1)

**RESOLVED**: that Councillor Owen be elected to chair the Committee for the current Council Year.

### 13/11 **ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN FOR THE 2011/12 COUNCIL YEAR** (Agenda No. 2)

**RESOLVED**: that Councillor A. M. Lovatt be elected as Deputy Chairman for the current Council Year.

## 14/11 SUBORDINATE BODIES

(Agenda No. 3)

The Committee's attention was drawn to the following existing subordinate bodies, their membership and functions, which came within its responsibility:

Appeals Sub-Committee
Tribunal Panels
Fire Service Discipline Sub-Committee
Appointments Sub-Committee
Gradings Sub-Committee
Pension Benefits Sub-Committee

Appointments to them were not needed at this time.

**RESOLVED**: to note the Committee's subordinate bodies.

## **15/11 MINUTES**

(Agenda No.)

The Minutes of the meeting held on 15 July 2010 (DO6) were approved and signed.

Councillor Godden requested an update on the new byelaw regulating the employment of children under 14 years of age.

	 in the Chair
Date of signing	